Dry embossing with Embossalicious’ Chevrons – September 15, 2013 SimonSaysStamp.com Monday Challenge


See the challenge here: http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/challenge-embossed/

I was so in love with this Embossalicious’ Chevrons embossing folder recently and created so many cards with it. It can just give a little simple element to the card, and I wouldn’t have to add any more colors nor embellishments on the card and make it more complicated.

First Card:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve used AC Cardstock Pastel Grey underneath, and the Embossalicious Chevrons embossing folder over on a plain white cardstock. I then used the Taylored Expressions Cloud Duo die on the embossed paper, while leaving half of the bigger cloud outside of the paper to create the blending effect of the white paper and the cardstock. I thought that since I’m placing another piece of paper on the cardstock, I didn’t want the cardstock to be fully covered.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then used the EK Success Journal Plate and Bracket Punch on plain white cardstock to make that little journal tag in the middle. The stamped quote and star images were from Lawn Fawns’ “Lucky Stars” stamp set on Hero Arts’ Charcoal Shadow Ink. As for the silver ribbon, I’ve used Lawn Fawns’ “Stitched Journaling Card die, and I used Judi Kins’ Silver Embossing Powder, and cut the ribbon in half and stuck the whole little tag on the card with foam stickers. That’s it! Simple as! 😀

Here’s the second card:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Obviously this card is similar, but I’ve used Stampendous!’s Baby Blue Pastel Embossing Powder on the ribbon, with Lawn Fawns’ “Hello Friend” stamp set on Hero Arts Cornflower Shadow Ink (or is it Pool? I think it’s Cornflower though. :P).

Third card:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This time I’ve used the hearts die from Lawn Fawns’ “Stitched Journaling Card” die set as well, while the embossing powder was Stampendous!’s Lilac Pastel. I’ve used Lawn Fawn’s “Milo’s ABCs” with Hero Arts’ Passion Flower Shadow Ink.

The fourth card:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I figured I haven’t made landscape cards for a while so I did this. I used the My Favorite Things Die-namics “Bracket Edge Duo” at the end of the cards on both flaps. The yellow embossing powder was Stampendous!’s Sunny Yellow, and since I don’t have a yellow stamp pad, I’ve used the Hero Arts Green Hills Shadow Ink. I didn’t really like how it turned out, since I’d really rather it’s yellow, but I guess that will do. 😛

And the very last card of the day:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I actually REALLY like how the card turned out, especially the sparkly ribbon. It took me such a long time to get the sparkles right though, it was not easy, and was definitely messy as well. This is why I don’t like glitter, they just make tons of mess.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve used Stampendous!’s Royal Blue Embossing Tinsel for the ribbon, and the Hero Arts Cornflower Shadow Ink for the greeting, and the cute little snowman was from Paper Smooches’ Warm Hearts.

 

Yeah, that’s it. I hope you loved those cards and see that even if it’s only one little element of dry embossing, it can make the card seem interesting yet simple!

Until next time,

-Alyx

2 thoughts on “Dry embossing with Embossalicious’ Chevrons – September 15, 2013 SimonSaysStamp.com Monday Challenge

  1. Lovely cards, I really appreciate how you’ve let the embossed textures be the star of the show here. Thanks for joining us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

  2. beautiful cards! So elegant with the simplicity you made them. The chevron embossing is stunning. Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

Leave a Reply

