Christmas Card #1 – SimonSaysStamp.com Monday Challenge (September 9, 2013)


See the challenge here: http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/challenge-embossed/

Today I’m here to show you a card I made inspired from a card from my previous post, even though the cards look rather alike, they have obvious differences.

This week, the challenge is to emboss something, no matter if it’s dry emboss or heat emboss. This card includes heat emboss only, but I might try a dry emboss card some time as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So as you can see, the card does look quite similar to the previous one, except I’ve used entirely different things to make it, apart from the cardstock and the circle dies. I’ve used the AC cardstock with Lawn Fawn “Circle Stackables”. This time however, I used a plastic sheet instead of tracing paper, this allows full transparency of the background card, it does make message writing rather difficult, but since it is a Christmas card, I wouldn’t be writing a lot other than Merry Christmas. If you want to get more writing space, you can use tracing papers, or put a nice patterned paper underneath, or even, put the circles back to where they were.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On to the these stamped images and words, I’ve used Staz On Midi Jet Black ink pad for the black inks, and the normal Staz On Black Cherry ink pad for the red ink. I obviously didn’t do a very well job with stamping the red words, it was my first time using it, and I was really scared if I kept it on for too long it will stain my stamp. It did in the end, but I shouldn’t have panicked either. I have a Stamp Cleaner, not the Staz On one, but it’s similar. I don’t know the perfect ways to clean those Staz On stamps, but I used wet wipes and the stamp cleaner together, dabbing the stamp with the stamp cleaner liquids, then dabbing the wet wipes all around to absorb the ink. I’ve only bought the Staz On ink this week, and obviously it’s much better than using VersaFine on the tracing papers, so the images won’t smudge and all. #LessHassle

Anyways, the little ginger bread man in the cup is just too cute, it’s by Micia Crafts, a Taiwanese stamps company. The “love will keep us warm” quote is from Paper Smooches’ Warm Hearts stamp set, and so is the mistletoe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On to the little ribbon on the bottom of the card, unfortunately the message wasn’t very clear when it’s captured on camera. I’ve used some plain white cardstock, and the ribbon die from Lawn Fawn’s “Stitched Journaling Card” die set to create the long ribbon. I actually ran the paper and the die through twice, because I wanted to make it longer. The first time I ran the sandwich through, I had the ending of the ribbon stuck outside of the sandwich, so it wouldn’t be cut, then adjusting the die to the other end of the paper, and ran it through again. Next I stamped Versamark all over the paper, and used Judi Kins’ Silver Embossing Powder. After heat setting it, I’ve used Lawn Fawn’s “Milo’s ABCs” with Staz On Cotton White ink pad.

Yeah, that’s it, I didn’t round the corners, nor add any dashed/dotted lines. Just thought I’d keep it simple. Yeknow.

 

See ya next time,

Alyx<3

2 thoughts on “Christmas Card #1 – SimonSaysStamp.com Monday Challenge (September 9, 2013)

Leave a Reply

